Assignments, business, career, exercise, health, life, Study, Uncategorized

The Pressures Of Study & Business

Study-Hacks-Take-Study-Breaks

Right now I am procrastinating. I have an assignment due tomorrow and, although I am 3/4 of the way finished, I have decided to write this blog instead. Don’t get me wrong, I love my course and everything I’ve learnt has relevance to the business I have started, but it can be a bit of drag finding the time to read course materials and complete assignments.

The online dictionary describes study as “the devotion of time and attention to gaining knowledge of an academic subject, especially by means of books.” Well, by the dictionary logic, I haven’t been devoting my time and attention enough to my studies. I think maybe I should devote more time and attention, but it’s difficult. It doesn’t help my case when I’m the kind of person who thrives on doing things in the last minute and then wonder why I’m suddenly stressed out. Bad habits need to die, and fast!

I’ve become too focused on starting my business and my health. I’m desperate to lose some unwanted weight after years of putting everything but myself first. I’ve thrown myself into a fitness regime and a diet consisting of dumping half of my previous intake of sugar, and although I know it’s doing me the world of good, the signs of fatigue are starting to show. I’ve been consistently ill, which, in my past life, when I flung all caution of my health and wellbeing to the wind, I very rarely got. I would fall ill once, maybe twice a year if I’m unlucky. Apparently, according to my mother, all the previous rubbish my body has dealt with in the past is coming out of my system and my body is adjusting to a brand new regime which it is taking a bit of getting used to. I know that deep down, my body is loving the changes I am making, it’s just re-evaluating itself at the moment. Doesn’t help with my constant spate of sickness, but I’m sure I’ll get better soon. Fingers crossed.

Aside from the new health regime, I’ve been concentrating on my business. I’ve now got my business cards delivered and I’ve made some cold calls to a few businesses to attract some clients. My radio advert, which I won $500 worth of free advertising in February through a local business networking meeting, is now on air after a few weeks of going back and forth with emails and meetings with the radio company. Hopefully I’ll attract a few clients through the radio advert, but I know the best marketing technique is cold calling. I was incredibly nervous at first, but after giving out my first business my card, I began to feel more confident about handing them out. The few businesses that I gave my card to were curious in what services I am offering, which is a good sign. I can only hope they look at my website and think, “Yes, I will hire her for some work.”

I’ll do a few more rounds of cold calling after finishing my assignment, and then I’ll have to step back for a bit and see what happens. What will be will be and all of that stuff. I’ve done all of the hard yards, hopefully it will pay off. I do think that once I get that first client, it’ll be like an avalanche and things will start to take off. However, I’ve been warned that it could take at least a year before I’m in the thick of it as my business is something that people don’t automatically think to Google search. It’s all about me displaying myself with a “hey, I’m here, hire me!” card.

So, things are a bit chaotic right now, which means that something has to take a back seat. It can’t be my health, and my studies have been woefully neglected, so it’s going to have to be the business. I’m not abandoning it by any stretch of the imagination, I’m just going to do a little bit more hard work and then sit back a little and see how it pans out. I’ve done all that I can, and there’s not much more I can do after I’ve done some more cold calls. I know that I can’t keep putting off my studies and then spending late nights completing assignments at the last minute, it’s too stressful. It’s a difficult time right now and I’m spreading myself thinly, but it’s not going to last forever. I just have to keep reminding myself of the bigger picture and when the study is all over and I graduate next year, I can look back and feel proud of myself and my achievements.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

