business, career, exercise, happiness, inspirational, life, mentality, New beginnings

Where’s your head at?

One of the things that I’ve noticed about starting my own business is that it’s completely up to me to do all of the marketing. 

There’s things like setting up the social media accounts, designing and implementing my website (thanks WordPress!) Plus advertising, designing and purchasing my business cards and attending business courses and local networking meetings. There’s always something to do!

I love designing things, especially websites, so the designing elements of setting up the business were fun for me. I love social media as well so that was a breeze. Marketing, however, is quite the challenge. More to the point, marketing myself is quite the challenge. 

Don’t get me wrong, I believe that I’m good at what I do. I wouldn’t be setting up my own business if I wasn’t completely sure of my abilities. 

The marketing of myself is quite scary. Sure, I’ve attended plenty of job interviews in my working life, but it’s not easy telling people how amazing you are. I guess it comes down to confidence. I admit, I don’t have an abundance of it, but this journey so far is slowly changing the way I feel about myself. I’ve realised that I’m more mentally stronger than I thought. 

How I see my outer self is a different story. I’m not confident about my appearance, and because I have to market myself, this is a problem. My lack of confidence about my outer appearance will be obvious to those I’m trying to entice as regular clients. 

So I’ve decided to work on my health and fitness at the same time as setting up my business.

It’s a lot to take on, and I’m mentally exhausted, but it needs to be done. In fact, if I don’t walk every day or attend zumba classes weekly, not only do I not physically feel good, I don’t feel good mentally either.

My favourite walks are those on the beach. I’m incredibly lucky that I live close to the beach, because there’s something about the salty fresh air that helps me put things into prospective. I feel less stressed out and feel so much better about myself. Having those endorphins kick in really does the trick!

I have to be careful not to overdo things either. I’m the kind of person who isn’t always motivated, but when I find that passion and drive, I become slightly obsessed about achieving the right outcome. I am that person that needs to finish what they started, so I’m constantly telling myself to take it slowly because these things take time.

The point of this post is to trying to balance your everyday life with exercise. I’m no fitness guru, or professional life coach, but for someone who never really exercised like they should have in the past, I can see the difference in myself. I feel the difference. Without my regular walks, I would have struggled more mentally with setting up my business.

I know that balancing my career, my studies, confidence, fitness and mentality is like walking on a tightrope. You have to get the exact balance otherwise you’ll fall over.

I’m enjoying the ride entering the business world has given me. I’ve developed more confidence and I am learning so much about myself. 

Sure, it’s mentally exhausting, but knowing that I’ll get there eventually and clearing my head with regular exercise, I know I’m going to achieve what I want to accomplish in my life.

Leave a Reply

